[Vtr-tac] Release of Information Under the Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (DPPA)
Electronic Distribution of VTR Information to Texas Counties
vtr-tac at extlists.dmv.state.tx.us
Mon Oct 18 09:47:18 CDT 2010
Please review and distribute as appropriate.
The purpose of this notification is to remind you that the release of
personal information of Texas vehicle owners is restricted by law under
the Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (DPPA). Neither the Texas Department
of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) nor any of its partner entities with access to
motor vehicle records may verify or release personal information from
those records by telephone.
Personal information includes:
- Name and address of vehicle owner,
- Name and address of previous owner,
- Name and address of lienholder
- License plate number,
- Disabled placard numbers, and
- Temporary permit numbers.
To ensure the privacy of vehicle records the following procedures must
be followed at all times, unless advised otherwise by TxDMV:
With few exceptions, staff must not verify, confirm or release personal
information via telephone, e-mail or correspondence. To obtain or verify
A requestor with a permitted reason, listed on Form VTR-275, must
1) a valid government issue photo identification – domestic or
2) a completed Request for Texas Motor Vehicle Information, Form
3) the applicable $2.30 fee.
Counties that do not have their own DPPA forms are allowed to use
A TAC may continue to support law enforcement inquiries, if able to
verify their identity. It is recommended that requests for vehicle owner
information be routed to a supervisor for approval or referred to the
Requests received via fax or scan (e-mail) may be processed if the
1) from the current owner of record or law enforcement, and
2) supported by valid government issue photo identification –
domestic or foreign.
In the case of a customer who received a letter from the TxDMV
regarding a Legal Restraint, TxDMV staff can discuss the Legal Restraint
with the customer after verifying the legal restraint case number and
validity. Personal information restrictions still apply.
In the case of a customer who received a letter from the TexasSure
program, the TexasSure Call Center (888-613-5296) will answer questions
after validating the customer’s case number and their vehicle record.
For in-person customers (owner or subject of record), identification
must be verified. A Form VTR-275 and the $2.30 fee is required if a
printed copy of vehicle information is requested. An owner does not need
to submit a VTR-275 to obtain verbal verification of information
contained in their vehicle record.
For in-person customers (not the owner or subject of record), valid
government issue photo identification – domestic or foreign, the Form
VTR-275 with permitted use checked and the $2.30 fee are required.
Lienholders and other commercial users may contract with TxDMV to use
the MVInet database to obtain customer information for legitimate
business purposes. Please remind any lienholders if they contact you on
this procedure. MVInet use requires their business to agree to adhere to
DPPA restrictions. For further information on MVInet you may refer
commercial users to the following link:
TxDMV forms, manuals and training materials are being reviewed and
revised to ensure their consistency with DPPA procedures.
Note: Verification of identity means the individual must show current
government issued photo identification.
If you have any questions, please contact your local regional office.
Randy Elliston, Director
Vehicle Titles and Registration Division
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
If you have any comments or suggestions concerning this VTR
communication process, please contact your local VTR Regional Office.
If you would like to see previous postings from the "VTR Electronic
Archives," please visit
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
More information about the VTR-TAC